Part One: Chapter Six

Wow. So after some technical difficulties thanks to my CC hair not loading when the game loaded (which, if you have any tips on how to avoid this, that’d be great!), I FINALLY managed to get this chappie finished.

Hopefully it’s decent. I’m anxious to get to the next few chapters. 🙂

“You what?!” His blood pressure immediately rose to an alarming level, and his hands started to shake. His head was throbbing with the words that had just spilled from her beautiful lips. It couldn’t be true.

“I’m sorry,” she whispered.

“You—you killed Shannon? And Wes? You did it?” And then he was angry. Not only had she murdered his big sister and his best friend, but she’d deceived him for months about it. Unable to voice every bit of his fury, he simply mouthed silently at her.

“Jake, listen,” she said, stepping toward him suddenly. “Please, listen to me.”

“I walked in on Wes and Shannon in bed together. He was cheating on me, Jake. And I—I just lost my head.” She clasped her hands in front of her, desperately trying to convince him. “Please. I know there is no justification for my actions. At all. But please, try to understand even a little bit.”

“Understand why you killed my sister? So we can go back to every other normal day? What are you, sick?” Jake made a noise in his throat and added, “Well, clearly.”

“Wes was all I had left, Jake. Whatever bit of him there was still is all I had. And it was taken from me right in front of my own eyes.”

“So you took Shannon from me?”

“No, I—“ She stopped, and hung her head a little. “Well, yes, but I didn’t think about it. I just did it. I didn’t—“

“I’m gonna stop you right there,” he interrupted, holding up a hand. His voice sounded oddly strangled.

“No, please, Jake,” she pleaded. Finally, tears started to smart her eyes.

“I don’t want to hear anything you have to say.”

“But you have to understand!”

“How the fuck can I understand this?” he shouted suddenly. She withdrew, frightened by his outburst. “You fucking murdered my sister, Aurora!”

“I know,” she whispered.

“So how do I understand? How can I?”

“Because, Jake. Remember when you found out Shannon was dead. Didn’t you just want to kill whoever it was that had taken her from you?”

Jake stared at her, breathing heavily, and replied emphatically, “Yes.”

“Well, I’m no different. She took him from me. He took himself from me. And I just wanted to kill them for taking everything I had left from me.” Her eyes were wide and begging. “You understand that.”

He realized her point and looked away, an ugly scowl on his face. “It doesn’t matter,” he said in a low voice. “Nothing excuses what you’ve done.”

“You’re right,” she admitted softly. “But please don’t go.”

“Why? So I can lose my mother too? And stay with my sister’s killer?” He shook his head. “No way, Aurora.”

She felt her heart breaking. Her tongue fumbled to form words that could convince him, but nothing came. So she stupidly asked, “Are you going to turn me in?”

He slid a hand through his hair and groaned. “I hate to say this,” he said. Her stomach dropped. Then he looked at her, directly in the eyes, and the hatred she expected to see there was absent. Instead, she saw a bitter sorrow staring back at her. “I can’t turn you in. I love you, Aurora. I always have. And I can’t just become that guy when I’m so in love with you.”

She looked back at him, hearing his words and silently pleading to the universe to keep him with her. She had no such luck, however.

“I’m going home to Bridgeport,” he told her. “Drug lords be damned. You can stay here. I’m not going to completely ruin your life because, while you’ve ruined a part of mine, you’ve also made it better than I ever imagined it could have been. I can’t turn you out. So stay here and live your life, Aurora, but forgive me, because I can’t be with you.”

“Jake, please,” she begged, rushing forward into his arms desperately. He held her for a moment with a kind of warmth that only comes from goodbye. “Don’t leave me,” she whispered.

He pushed her off of him a little bit and looked into her eyes. She tried to smile, but he was too serious and she was too near tears. “I’ll never stop loving you, Aurora. But I’m going to try.” Now the tears rushed freely from her eyes. “So I’ll make you a deal. You can stay here. You can live your life as a free woman. I’ll have my family drop the charge and the investigation. But on one condition.”

“What?” she mumbled through the droplets falling over her lips.

“You don’t contact me ever again.” Her eyes widened in horror at the idea, but he wouldn’t let her speak. “I can’t imagine getting over you, but I know my best shot is if you’re gone entirely from my life.”

He released her and walked to the bedroom door. She was overcome with a sudden bout of lightheadedness and nausea, and she grabbed her stomach in an attempt not to vomit all over the floor.

“I love you,” he said over his shoulder. “But it would be so wrong to continue as we have been. Goodbye, Aurora.”

“Jake,” she gasped. But he opened the door as if he hadn’t heard her.

And then he was gone.

“Jake,” she whispered again.

And then she collapsed on the floor, her limbs hitting the hardwood with blows that didn’t hold a candle to the pain in her heart.

Jake.

The next few days blended together in a haze of misery. Aurora lay on her bed, curled up and dry-eyed. Crying couldn’t help the ache she had persistently haunting her every thought. She lost track of time, only thinking about the past six months. What was the use of living as a free woman if she couldn’t live at all?

Finally, she got off the bed and took her phone out. Fuck freedom. She had to talk to him. She needed him.

But as she punched in the numbers, a new realization dawned on her. It wasn’t just about her. It was about Jake. He’d asked that she leave him be. Forever. And she’d taken so much from him already that it would be completely unfair to take his last request of her from him too. She was chained down by their silence, but he was freed by it. And she wouldn’t—she couldn’t—take that away.

She put her phone back in her pocket and made a decision. She would move on too, somehow. That’s what he wanted. He wanted her to live.

So she would.

Somehow.

~ by lilrunningback on June 20, 2011.

2 Responses to “Part One: Chapter Six”

  1. Wow,i love it as alwayse keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
